Bipolar Blog Beginnings

My name is Courtney and I have Bipolar II. Whew I’m glad that’s over with because starting this feels a bit like a group session. I’m hoping that I get more comfortable as I type. I’ve been diagnosed for a few years now and I like to be well informed on things especially when I’m directly affected.

There are a lot of books and articles out there on Bipolar disorder. But there’s not a lot of info on Bipolar II. Sure, it gets some honorable mention by getting a couple of pages put in a book or a paragraph or two in an article. That’s not enough. Bipolar I and Bipolar II have their similarities but when you have one or the other they are worlds apart. Bipolar II has it’s own difficulties, quirks and triumphs.

I crave more information, sharing and discussion. So I’m starting this blog to share information I’ve learned, fight stigma and ignite more discussion. I hope you check in often to see how I do on my rookie blog adventure. Post #2 coming soon!

16 responses to “Bipolar Blog Beginnings

  • halfwaybetweenthegutter

    Hello 🙂 My best friend has bipolar II and I’d welcome any further information on it, especially from a more personal viewpoint as textbooks are so dry and factual.

    • acrazybeautifulmind

      I’m hoping that this blog is not only helpful to me thru writing but maybe for others also. I’m hoping to write at least 3 times a week. If you subscribe you can keep up with it. Your friend might like it too. Stay posted! More to come 🙂

  • Jess

    Hi! Thanks for sharing! I was diagnosed with bipolar II in 20o4, but in the next few months it was upgraded to Bipolar I when I had a manic episode. I look forward to reading your blog, and feel free to check out mine.

    Take care,
    Jess

  • Kristi

    Hi,
    This is the first time I am posting. It is the first time I am posting on any BP board. I was diagnosed with BP 11, ultra ultra rapid cycling, 27 years ago. First it was a suicidal depression, I never acted on it. It then led to hypomanic episodes filled with panic, anxiety and anger. I was on depakote for 26 years. I gained 64 pounds over the years. My cholesteral went from 119 to 186 by the time I came off of it. I was facing physical complications. I was never happy on the depakote. I felt deadened, ate like a pig, ate sugar around the clock and could sleep 15 hours a night easy. It did help my depression and anxiety. My cycling lessened but was always there. Later lexapro was added for anxiety and a slight bit of wellbutrin for the depression. I came off depakote 1,5 years ago. I no longer ate sugar, no longer stuffed food and immediately the weight came off. I lost 54 pounds. I am now on lamictal. It has completely stopped my cycling, however I still have anxiety and depression. I need another mood stablized. Neurontin helps but it is not powerful enough. I wish it was because it is a great drug for me.
    I am now on a ton of drugs and not completely stable. I have been walking around with depression and anxiety for quite some time. It is the first time in my life I am refusing medicine. I dont ever take antipsychotics. He wanted to put me on seraquel, I am not psychotic. I dont do well on antipsychotics. Since I went on Lamictal I feel almost normal, I am thinking clearly. I think it is because I am not cycling.
    I am refusing weight gain. I feel anxious but am definately frightened to get deadened and fat again . I dont think they should have taken me off of depakote. I was dead for years and now Im not. I am choosing not feeling well over any more severe anticonvulsants. I feel trapped.

  • Kristi

    Still struggling over here. Refusing to go on any medicine that makes me gain weight. I am already carrying about 18 extra pounds from Neurontin and Lexapro. I am refusing trileptal. I am on Lamictal, meurontin and Lexapro. I was on Depakote for 21 years and got huge. Over the years I went from 122 to 190, that is unacceptable. When I came off I dropped to 140 is about 4 months. My cholesterol had gone through the roof. I am walking around with anxiety and depression. I guess theis is what my life will be. I refuse to even gain a pound, it is over. No more fat drugs 40 me.

  • Kristi

    Cortney,
    Whay medicines are you on. Are you taking a mood stablizer? I cannot believe what I am doing. When I was your age I had gained about 20 pounds which I could handle also. I needed a mood stablizer, the tried lithium first. I didnt care about weight then, I was a good patient, I just wanted to get better. The lithium did not work, it wasnt the weight, I dealt with that, it was the tremors. Then when I went on depakote the anxiety and depression was healed but I still cycled.

  • Shelly

    Courtney,
    Found this blog by searching for blogs on bipolar in WordPress. YAY! I’m so glad to have someone with the same diagnosis to read about. I also have BPII and was diagnosed 2 years ago. I just started my blog this week. I’m going to go through all of your past postings…I know I’ll glean some great information. Thanks in advance!
    God Bless,
    Shelly

Leave a Reply

