Myths & Misconceptions

I wanted to talk more about the Myths surrounding Bipolar/Bipolar II disorder. In my previous post regarding this I talked about how the word ‘bipolar’ is used as a blanket term to label anyone and everyone who might be a wee bit off. I also talked about how it’s believed that those with the disorder cant be successfully functioning individuals. That post was entitiled Myths & Stigma if you want to read more. I got some feedback on that post that I wanted to include and address today.

“Everyone gets like that”. That is what some people will say to you when you try and describe Bipolar/Bipolar II disorder. They may claim that at time they do get depressed, have extra energy, insomnia etc… Fill in with any of your own personal syptoms that you would have named. Bipolar/Bipolar II have a name and clinical recognition and treatment because they are real. We have the feelings and symptons that we describe to you but to the enth degree. It’s true that everyone has there up’s and down’s and I’m not trying to take away from that. However, those that have this disorder live it everyday. There’s no escaping it. It’s always there, always present, always causing problems. It’s not something that comes around from time to time. To gain understanding of the disorder you have to understand that its real and always present just like any other disorder or disease. View it as you would diabetes, chron’s disease and many more.

“Are you sure you need to be taking all of those pills? They may be doing you more harm than good.”. This is another poular response ones will give when they know what you have and see what youre taking. Trust me, ones that are getting treatment for Bipolar/Bipolar II have thoroughly went over the pro’s and con’s of their medication. We have to live with the side effects, so we’re well aware of the potential harm. The only way to recieve those medications is through our doctor. Doctors have spent umpteen years in school to determine whether or not certain medications are good or bad for certain people. They also spend a considerable amount of time with their patient to decide whether or not that medication is right for them or not and if it’s ok to take along with your other medications. If you have ever caught yourself wondering the above question, please remember that there is quite a process that has been gone through to get that medication.

These were just a couple more myths/misconceptions. Let me know if you have any more to add to the mix or if you want me to expand more on a particular one. I appreciate all of your comments. See you next time!

~CMc~

 

 

 

 

 

19 responses to “Myths & Misconceptions

  • mwam8

    Just a caution. I have caught countless doctors of mine in countless med screw-ups (some of them life-threatening). Don’t trust implicitly just because they happen to have M.D. after their name. It’s your body, it’s your life, and you have to triple-check them and be your own advocate!

    ~ Ruby

  • Mary Anne

    This is Very insightful, more so because you are pretty darned self-aware at such a young age, smile. I was not Nearly so aware when younger.

    And yes, I have heard Both of those comments made, about too many meds and “we all go through it”, lol.

    Though I am BP1, your expression of feeling things to the “enth degree” is Perfect. I have often thought of us as having at least That part when relating to symptoms of autism, just because the sensory stimuli hit us SO much harder than it ever seems to hit the average person!

    On my end, a common misconception is that, if we are feeling Good and getting things done, we must be “okay”! Which is not so, because we don’t always have an Off switch! I may not be “good” for long – I may be headed Up, and then what will people think?

    Keep blogging, CM – one of the hardest things to do is to “keep at it”, no matter how we feel. 🙂

    • acrazybeautifulmind

      Mary Anne,
      Thank you so much for your comment! It was so positive. I know I focus on Bipolar II but I realize that Bipolar I can relate to a number of things. Thanks for encouraging me to write no matter what. I know at other times it will be difficult for me write. Comments like yours will keep me going 🙂 I’ve found, in this short time, that I love writing. There’s a lot more that I have left to say so stay tuned!

  • feistyrhirhi

    I love that you are open and talking about this! I know its completely different, but I have really bad anxiety disorder and trichotillomania. I’ve gone through so many meds trying to help but I know its hard to find meds! I subscribed to your blog because I’d love to know more about this and you! 🙂

  • breelynwrites

    I find it the most frustrating when my closest friends/family just assume everything is the bipolar, and I can’t make anyone understand that just cause I have this, doesn’t mean I still don’t get upset or angry for very justified reasons. its all just thrown out the window. anyone else feel like this? and you were right….I do enjoy your blog:)

    -breelyn ❤

    • acrazybeautifulmind

      I feel like that too. I think unless you have it you don’t totally grasp that. As much as my husband tries he still pauses from time to time and asks me if I’m having a moment or not. I’m having him read this blog too 😉

  • Cora Bole

    I am prejudiced. But I do see a beautiful person every time I look at you. You have courage to confront everything that comes your way. You are funny, loyal, sympathetic, a friend to all, smart, enthusiastic and all grown up. You were raised by a mother that was always depressed if not bipolar. You could have had better. But we are all what we are. It’s what we do with what we know that helps all of us succeed. Put your mistakes behind you and do all that you can for others. We all need someone to believe in and honey I do believe in you. I could go on but I’m just Mom.

  • One Man Wrecking Machine « The Lithium Log

    […] great blog post that I read yesterday made me think of how I have treated bipolar and bipolar people in the […]

  • Chad McCool

    This is a really insightful post. I envy that sense or insight. I was guilty of so much of this before I went through my last round of depression and my bipolar II diagnosis.

    Actually I think some of the things that I thought and said were terrible and I feel ashamed for it.

    This is great stuff. Reading your words has truly helped me get through what has been a really troubling of a time and a constant struggle for me.

Leave a Reply

