You Are In Charge

In charge of what? Your mental health. Everything is up to you. Not your mom or your spouse or your friends. The only person that can keep you as healthy as possible is you and with Bipolar/ Bipolar II it’s an important life long responsibility.

Advocate – to be a supporter of a cause. We need to be advocates of our disorder and support the cause of the care of our health. You may wonder why this is important. Well no one else is going to do it for us or do it better. Ones with this disorder tend to turn their backs on their care when times are good. We all know that times don’t ever stay good. In order to be constant mentally and habitually we have to stay on top of it. By doing that, we can avoid the extremes that come from not taking care of ourselves.

There may be some of you reading this that have a strong feeling that they are Bipolar/Bipolar II, yet you’re not seeking treatment. I’ve done this in the past and please believe me when I say that your only denying yourself a better way of life. Once you get properly diagnosed and treatment you see things a different way and experience things in a way you didn’t know you could. There can be more ‘good times’ and less ‘bad times’. Take a minute and consider this if you haven’t sought treatment.

Once you’ve been diagnosed and have received treatment its important to be on top of if to see if it’s working for you. You’re just spinning your wheels if you don’t. You have to communicate everything with your doctor, you have to keep track of changes due to new medications or their side effects and learn your triggers.

There are others ways to be an advocate for your disorder that I will cover soon. However, on my next post I’m going to talk about triggers. What they are, how they affect you and why you need to know what they are. Until next time!

~CMc~

11 responses to “You Are In Charge

  • mwam8

    Really excellent info! You are so much more direct and concise about this than I could ever be, lol! Another interesting factiod – numerous studies have proven that the longer you wait to seek treatment, the less effective medication is, hence you have a poorer long-term prognosis.

    Keep it up, Courtney!

  • Chad McCool

    You have become rather inspirational for me. I agree with this post wholeheartedly, I want to do this… I need to do this. When did you start feeling this way? Maybe it is too soon, but I’m still really depressed and actually angry. Angry at being improperly diagnosed for so long, angry about losing my fiancee because she couldn’t handle the ups and downs. Did it come for you when you finally loaded to the dose of medicine for you? I think I can see and feel a difference, once I get past the side effects, but I might just be anxious to get past all of this.

    Thank you. You and your writing have truly helped me in I guess really is a short time that I found out.

    • acrazybeautifulmind

      Your comments mean so much! I started being an advocate for myself my second year of marriage. I had been off meds for a little over two year and I was just tired of it. I was tired of the up’s and down’s, the mood swings, the crippling depression all of it. That’s what motivated me to start treatment again. The reason I kept on with treatment is because the whole world was different to me now. I didn’t fight with my husband near as much, I could get out of bed (I still have bad days) and my whole outlook was more positive. That’s what motivats me now. I want to be as good as I can be and not go back.

  • mommylebron

    I came by to thank you for stopping by and took a few minutes to read through your most recent posts. You’ve got a great thing going here! Good for you for dealing with your Bipolar and reaching out to others. I look forward to reading more and would to have you as a guest when you have time.
    ((hugs))

  • doxienoodle

    This post is so true! It’s hard to admit that you need help, but once you get it your life changes so much for the better. Thanks for stopping by and letting me know about your blog. 🙂

  • ancestor

    anyone here go to a regular support group for bipolars? what’s your experience with them? i’ve started attending some AA meetings where i live because there’s nothing else. seems like support groups can be the constant contact for us who struggle with consistent and long term relationships … a place we can always go where we don’t have to be “normal”.

    • acrazybeautifulmind

      I don’t but I’ve checked into it a few times. I live in a rural area and there’s not much around here. I’d love to hear experiences from those that have went tho!

    • Shelly

      I do. The local clinic has a bipolar support group that meets 2x a month. It’s a very safe place to go, to bounce ideas around, to learn about disorder and symptoms, to get support and understanding, to be supportive and understanding, to see the differences in each other yet know that we have a commonality. It is part of my wellness plan.

Leave a Reply

